If several learners need to repeat a completed course but are prevented from starting a new training session until the training interval has ended, use the Start new session option. This is typically used when a workplace incident suggests learners need to refresh their training.
Note: The users' previous training sessions and results for this course are archived and a new training session starts. The users will have to complete the whole course again.
Step-by-step instructions
Go to Reports.
Click the Completed tab.
Find and select the learners for whom you want to start a new session.
Click the arrow on the Actions box and select Start a new session.
To send a training renewal reminder email to the learners, select the Also send these users a 'training renewal reminder email' box.
Click Ok, start a new session for selected users.
FAQ
Can I start a new session for one user only?
Can I start a new session for one user only?
What happens to previously earned certificates?
What happens to previously earned certificates?
The previously earned certificate isn't deleted — it can still be found under the user's profile. However, its status changes to "historic".
Does starting a new session before the training period ends use additional credits?
Does starting a new session before the training period ends use additional credits?
If you're on a Unified Credit Model, yes — starting a new training session uses additional credits. If you're on a user-based package, users can retake the course an unlimited number of times within the contract period without using additional credits. To learn more, see How do I view and track my credits and subscriptions?
