If a learner needs to repeat a completed course but is prevented from starting a new training session until the training interval has ended, use the Start new session option. This is typically used when a workplace incident suggests the learner needs to refresh their training.
Note: The learner's previous training session and results for this course are archived and a new training session starts. The learner will have to complete the whole course again.
Step-by-step instructions
Go to Reports.
Filter courses by Completed to show only those learners who've finished the course.
Tick the checkbox next to the learner (or learners) you want.
Click Actions and select Start new session to reset the course for them.
To send a training renewal reminder email to the learner, select the Also send these users a 'training renewal reminder email' box.
Click Ok, start a new session for selected users.
FAQ
Can I start a new session for several users at once?
Can I start a new session for several users at once?
What happens to a previously earned certificate?
What happens to a previously earned certificate?
The previously earned certificate can still be found under the user's profile. However, its status changes to "historic".
Does starting a new session before the training period ends use additional credits?
Does starting a new session before the training period ends use additional credits?
If you're on a Unified Credit Model, yes — starting a new training session uses additional credits. If you're on a user-based package, users can retake the course an unlimited number of times within the contract period without using additional credits. To learn more, see How do I view and track my credits and subscriptions?
