A Smart Enrolment automatically enrols everyone in a segment onto the courses you choose — and updates those enrolments as people join or leave the segment. If you're not familiar with how Smart Enrolments work, start there.
Before you start
Make sure the following are in place:
Create custom profile fields to segment users, and fill out these fields for all users. See How do I create a custom profile field?
Create the relevant segments. See How do I create an organisational segment?
Set the course enrolment method to "By assignment only". See How do I change a course's enrolment method?
Step-by-step instructions
How to add a Smart Enrolment (link a course to a segment)
Go to Settings.
In the Elsewhere section, click Organisational segments.
Find the segment in the list, click the three dots on the right of its details, and select Edit.
In the SMART ENROLMENTS section, click the Link course button on the right.
Click the down arrow on the search box and select one or several courses from the list.
Click Link courses.
How to remove a Smart Enrolment (unlink a course from a segment)
Caution: This action immediately unenrols all learners in this segment from the course.
Go to Settings.
In the Elsewhere section, click Organisational segments.
Find the segment in the list, click the three dots on the right of its details, and select Edit.
In the SMART ENROLMENTS section, find the course you want to unlink, click the menu icon on the right of the course's details and select Remove.
Click OK to confirm.
Interactive walkthrough
FAQ
I accidentally removed a user from a segment. What happens to their enrolments?
I accidentally removed a user from a segment. What happens to their enrolments?
The user is immediately unenrolled from all courses linked to that segment. However, their progress on those courses is saved. If the user is re-added to the segment and automatically re-enrolled, they can resume their training from where they left off.
A user belongs to two segments. What courses will be assigned to them?
A user belongs to two segments. What courses will be assigned to them?
The user will be enrolled on courses linked to both segments.
Do Smart Enrolments affect a user's prior enrolments?
Do Smart Enrolments affect a user's prior enrolments?
No. Smart Enrolments don't affect a user's prior enrolments — the system tracks individual assignments separately.
Can I unenrol an individual user from a course assigned through Smart Enrolments?
Can I unenrol an individual user from a course assigned through Smart Enrolments?
No. To remove a user from a course assigned through Smart Enrolments, an admin must either remove the user from the segment, or unlink the course from the segment — which unenrols all users in that segment.
