Course migration is how we move you from an older version of a course to an updated one. We regularly review our courses to keep them relevant, effective, and compliant — and when a course needs updating, the existing version is retired and replaced with the new one. This move from the old version to the new is what we call a migration.
What happens to users' progress and results
When a course is migrated to a new version, users' results are still listed on the Course Reports page.
Incomplete courses: users who haven't completed the course must start the new version from the beginning, to ensure they cover all updated content.
Completed courses: for users who have completed the course, an icon next to the course name indicates that the result corresponds to an earlier version of the training.
Course certificates can be downloaded and printed in the usual way, and will show the course title for the earlier version.
Note: Your overall compliance won't be affected by a course migration.
FAQ
Do I get a new version of the course automatically?
Do I get a new version of the course automatically?
In most cases this happens automatically, shortly after a new version of the course is released. For SCORM courses, or if you have a customised version of the course, see How do I get a migrated course version for SCORM or customised courses?
How do I know a course has been migrated?
How do I know a course has been migrated?
We regularly send out emails with the latest course updates.
Does this affect my Smart enrolments?
Does this affect my Smart enrolments?
No. Smart enrolments let you automate enrolment by linking a course to a segment. If a course is migrated to a new version, the LMS automatically copies any Smart enrolment links to the new version.
Does this affect my Documents & policies?
Does this affect my Documents & policies?
No. Documents & policies lets you link resources to a course. If a course is migrated to a new version, the LMS automatically copies resource links to the new version.
What do my users see?
What do my users see?
Users' results are listed in their training history with an icon under the Score heading, to show the score is for an earlier version of the training. Course certificates can be downloaded and printed in the usual way and will show the course title for the earlier version. If learners are migrated to the new version of a course, they lose access to the retired course's resources and content.
